Albums,  Music

Jadakiss Dropped Kiss Tha Game Goodbye 15 Years Ago


15 years ago today, one of nicest MCs to ever pick up a mic dropped his much-anticipated, debut album. Jadakiss released Kiss Tha Game Goodbye after releasing a group album with The Lox along with Styles P and Sheek Louch called Money, Power & Respect. After the Lox dropped their album and after being featured on numerous tracks for the likes of Notorious Big, Jay-Z, DMX and a few other hip hop heavyweights, everyone was waiting to hear from Jadakiss. Finally on August 7, 2001 he delivered a damn good album that featured Nas, DMX, Styles P, Sheek Louch, Snoop Dogg, Nate Dogg, 8Ball, Fiend, Eve and a couple others. The album went on to sell around a million copies after it sold over 200,000 in the first week.

Knock Yourself Out

This was the first single from the album and it featured production from the Neptunes, plus Pharrell did the vocals on the track. If you’re a huge Jadakiss fan like me, then this track was right up your alley because he killed with his witty metaphors and crazy delivery.

We Gonna Make It

This was the second single from the album and it featured his fellow Lox mate, Styles P on the track. Anytime you have a track that features Kiss and the Ghost, you already know they’re coming correct and it’ll be hard. This is probably my favorite track off the album, even though there are a couple others I could put in that category. The video also features vocals from Eve and she straight killed the track also.

The Overall Album

There were many critics who weren’t feeling the album because everyone knows that Jadakiss can spit. He had many highlights throughout the album, but he also experienced some low points throughout this project also. My favorite tracks off the album are Knock Yourself Out, We Gonna Make It, Jada’s Got a Gun, Show Discipline, Cruisin, Uh-Hunhh, Feel Me and Kiss is Spittin. If I was to give this album a rating, I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars. He had top-notched producers on his album from DJ Premier, Timbaland, the Neptunes, Swizz Beatz, Just Blaze and Alchemist. This is an album that you should have in your hip hop collection and also on this day, Usher released his 8701 album. Below is the track listing for Kiss Tha Game Goodbye from Jadakiss!!


  1. Intro
  2. Jada’s Got a Gun
  3. Show Discipline ft. Nas
  4. Knock Yourself Out ft. Pharrell
  5. We Gonna Make It ft. Styles P
  6. None Of Y’all Betta ft. The Lox
  7. Stick Yourself (Skit)
  8. I’m a Gangsta ft. Parle
  9. Nasty Girl ft. Carl Thomas
  10. Put Ya Hands Up
  11. Jay Jerkin (Skit) ft. The Lox
  12. On My Way ft. Swizz Beatz
  13. Cruisin’ ft. Snoop Dogg
  14. Kiss is Spittin’ ft. Nate Dogg & Mashonda
  15. Fuckin’ or What?
  16. It’s Time I See You ft. The Lox, Eve, Drag-On, Infa-Red & Cross
  17. What You Ride For? Ft. Fiend, 8Ball & Yung Wun
  18. Uh-Hunh ft. DMX
  19. Feel Me
  20. Keep Ya Head Up
  21. Charge It (Skit)


What up hip hop fans tell me something about Jadakiss? Are you a fan of his? What did you think about his debut album? Is he in your top 5 dead or alive after this LP? Head to the comments section below and give me some feedback.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *