Life of A Night Shift Working Daddy Blogger
Featured,  Life

Life of A Night Shift Working Daddy Blogger

This is a sponsored post written by me on behalf of Green Dot. All opinions are 100% mine.

If you follow me through my site or anywhere on social media, then you know I’m a night shift worker. I’ve been doing the night shift pretty much ever since my son was born over 19 years ago. When it comes to blogging, well that’s something I’ve done for a little over eight years. The logic behind it was I’m able to be the school parent, take my kids to doctor’s appointments and just be there when needed. With my oldest daughter due to graduate in a couple of months (which will mean I’ll have one in school), it’s coming to an end. Being that I’m 40-years-old now, I’ll admit that I’m getting too old for my hectic lifestyle and working at night. Here’s a look into my life of a night shift working daddy blogger.

Working at Night

My schedule is between 10:30pm to 7:00am in the morning from Sunday night through Friday morning. Most nights I’ll wake up around 9:20pm, get ready and be at work around 10:10pm. After getting ready in the locker room, I head to the break room to get something to snack on. For the most part, this happens a couple times a night if I don’t grab all my snacks at the store during the week. As you can see, all vending machines are converting to modern technology. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m someone that doesn’t carry cash around. My Green Dot 5% Back Debit Card* is used as I’m earning money back every time I’m grabbing something to snack or drink at work. Bank Smart. Get Rewarded. Get a Green Dot card today!

Mornings After Work

After getting off work in the mornings, most likely I’ll be heading to the store. On Mondays, I’m picking up my daughter’s lunch for the week and some breakfast stuff. Once again, when using my Greed Dot card, I’m earning 5% back on my transaction. Monday mornings is when I’m exhausted because it’s the first night of the week so I’m usually in and out quickly. When I get home, I’ll do a little blog work before I take my daughter to school around 8:40am. When I get back home, I’ll continue to do more work until around 9:30am or 10 in the morning. After spending 40 dollars, I’ve already earned almost two bucks back with my Green Dot debit card. I’ve downloaded the app, so I can keep up with everything with my account.


Most days I’ll wake up between 1:30pm and 2:00pm to get started back to work. My son is usually at work or doing school work and my oldest daughter gets home from school around 2:45pm. After talking to her about her day, she starts doing homework and I’ll continue to work again. My wife and I take turns when it comes to cooking by trading weeks. If it’s her week, then I’ll continue to work and during my week I’ll start cooking around 4:00pm. My youngest daughter usually get home around 4:25pm so I’ll have dinner ready when she comes through the door.


After talking to my daughter to see how her day went, sometimes I head out for lunch. It depends on what I feel like as sometimes I’ll pick up something from the restaurant, take what I cook, or I might’ve grabbed something earlier. Between 5-6pm, I’m spending time with the family, helping with homework or finishing up work. Before going to bed, I’ll talk to my mom and usually sleep again by 6:30pm until I get up and start my night off again.

My Conclusion

I’ve stated many times that it’s time for me to head to dayshift and it’s long overdue. With my oldest two kids being in college in the fall and my youngest involved with everything in school, it’s time for a change. I’m thinking of making that move in June or July, meaning I’ll have to adjust to blogging in the evening and nights. My wife is ready for the move as she wants me home at night and she says she sleep better when I’m home at night.

*Up to $100 annually

Visit Sponsors Site

Please follow and like us:

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *