2Pac Greatest Hits Dropped 20 Years Ago
Albums,  Hip Hop

2Pac Greatest Hits Dropped 20 Years Ago

2Pac Greatest Hits Dropped 20 Years Ago

The Makaveli album dropped a couple months after 2Pac passed away. The following year, 2Pac’s estate released the R U Still Down? album that was filled with original tracks. Next year, which was 20 years ago they released 2Pac Greatest Hits. The double album featured some of the best music from 2Pac, but they added four previously unreleased songs. Changes would be released about five weeks before the album would drop, and this is the Pac I’ve admired the most. Changes addressed guns, gangs, drugs, police brutality and racism which still takes place during this age. Changes was nominated for Best Rap Solo Performance at the Grammy Awards of 2000 and remains the only posthumous song to be nominated in this category. Changes is viewed as one of the best hip hop tracks of all-time and has been sampled by the likes of Nas for Black President.

Another previously unheard track was Unconditional Love. Every time I hear Unconditional Love, it makes me reminiscence about my dad as he absolutely loved this song. This track was originally written by Pac for M.C. Hammer who had just signed with Death Row. M.C. Hammer used the track for his Family Affair album and 2Pac was credited for the track. Despite giving the track to Hammer, 2Pac recorded a demo for Unconditional Love and it was put on the Greatest Hits album. The video was created with The Realest playing the roll of 2Pac in the booth and vocals. Troublesome ’96 was the third previously unreleased track and it was the first song on Disc 2. This was a track that Pac is spitting on the track and one of many of my favorite Pac tracks. Honestly, the first time I heard this was on one of many Makaveli tapes.

The fourth and final unreleased track caused a lot of controversy and definitely was a head scratcher. God Bless the Dead was the final track no one haven’t heard, and the beginning of the track says, Rest in Peace to Biggie Smalls. As we all know, 2Pac has always been a rapper that many thinks could predict the future, hell Dave Chappelle made a skit about it. 2Pac died in 1996, Biggie Smalls passed away in 1997 and this track was released in 1998. During this time, people still believed that 2Pac faked his death and thought he predicted the death of the Notorious Big. Either way, 2Pac Greatest Hits became the 9th hip hop album to go Diamond and his second. Check out the track listing below, add this project to your Apple Music set and check it out below.

Disc 1

  1. Keep Ya Head Up
  2. 2 of Amerikaz Most Wanted ft. Snoop Dogg
  3. Temptations
  4. God Bless the Dead ft. Stretch
  5. Hail Mary ft. Outlawz & Prince Ital
  6. Me Against the World ft. Dramacydal
  7. How Do U Want It
  8. So Many Tears
  9. Unconditional Love
  10. Trapped
  11. Life Goes On
  12. Hit ‘Em Up ft. Outlawz

Disc 2

  1. Troublesome ‘96
  2. Breanda’s Got A Baby ft. Dave Hollister
  3. I Ain’t Mad At Cha ft. Danny Boy
  4. I Get Around ft. Digital Underground
  5. Changes ft. Talent
  6. California Love ft. Dr. Dre & Roger Troutman
  7. Picture Me Rollin’ ft. Danny Boy, CPO & Big Syke
  8. How Long Will They Mourn Me? w/Thug Life ft. Nate Dogg
  9. Toss It Up ft. Danny Boy, K-Ci & JoJo and Aaron Hall
  10. Dear Mama
  11. All About U ft. Nate Dogg, Snoop Dogg, Hussein Fatal, Yaki Kadafi & Dru Down
  12. To Live & Die in LA ft. Val Young
  13. Heartz of Men

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *