Above the Rim Soundtrack Released 25 Years Ago Today
Albums,  Music

Above the Rim Soundtrack Released 25 Years Ago Today

Above the Rim Soundtrack Released 25 Years Ago Today

The Above the Rim Soundtrack is my favorite movie soundtrack of all-time. 25 years ago, today the Above the Rim Soundtrack was released. During this time, Death Row Records was in the midst of releasing classic after classic. Before this Death Row had dropped The Chronic by Dr. Dre and Doggystyle from Snoop. The Above the Rim Soundtrack got classic hip hop and R&B tracks on it. For hip hop, you had 2Pac, Warren G and Snoop Dogg & the Dogg Pound. On the R&B side of things, we had SWV, H-Town and Al B. Sure. When you put it all together, you have a classic that’s still talked all these years later.

For us older heads, we also had the cassette that featured two classic 2Pac joints. Pain featured Stretch is one of Pac’s hardest records that Ja Rule later remixed on his Pain is Love album. The other was Loyal to the Game featuring Treach. The first single was the instant classic, Regulate with Warren G and Nate Dogg. We all know this is one of the smoothest hip hop tracks you’ll ever hear. Regulate catapulted the G-Funk sounds, made Nate Dogg a household name with the hooks and prepared Warren G’s solo debut.

It’s crazy because Regulate was released about a month after the Soundtrack dropped. The second single was Afro Puffs with the Lady of Rage. Once again, Death Row dropped another instant classic. The Lady of Rage was featured on the Chronic prior and also signed to the label. The Lady of Rage was one of the lyrical female who rhymes are just as intimidating as she is. The track featured Snoop Dogg and Dr. Dre on the production. Those two got a lot of shine because they were the singles pushed by the label. There were other tracks that was dope on the album. Honestly, there isn’t a bad track on the album. Besides the two tracks mentioned, there are quite a few ones that I absolutely love on this set.

Anything, Old Time’s Sake, Part Time Lover, Big Pimpin, Pour Out a Little Liquor, Hoochies Need Love Too, Blowed Away and Dogg Pound 4 Life are my shit. As we all know, Pac put out a video for Pour Out a Little Liquor as the track appeared on the Thug Life album. Part Time Lover by H-Town and SWV’s Anything also had videos released. If this isn’t in your collection, you’re tripping for real. Peep the track listing below and it’s followed by the stream link.

  1. Anything- SWV
  2. Old Time’s Sake- Sweet Sable
  3. H-Town- Part Time Lover
  4. Big Pimpin- Snoop Dogg & The Dogg Pound
  5. Didn’t Mean to Turn You On- 2nd II None
  6. Doggie Style- D.J. Rogers
  7. Regulate- Warren G ft. Nate Dogg
  8. Pour Out A Little Liquor- 2Pac & Thug Life
  9. Gonna Give It to You- Jewell ft. Aaron Hall
  10. Afro Puffs- Lady of Rage ft. Snoop Dogg
  11. Jus So Ya No- CPO Boss Hog
  12. Hoochies Need Love Too- Paradise
  13. I’m Still in Love with You- Al B. Sure
  14. Crack ‘Em- O.F.T.B.
  15. U Bring Da Dog Out- Rhythm & Knowledge
  16. Blowed Away- B-Rezell
  17. It’s Not Deep Enough- Jewell
  18. Dogg Pound 4 Life- Dogg Pound ft. Snoop Dogg

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *