Illmatic Released 25 Years Ago Today By Nas
Albums,  Hip Hop,  Music

Illmatic Released 25 Years Ago Today By Nas

Illmatic Released 25 Years Ago Today By Nas

In the hip hop community, there’s a select few of albums that you can name without mentioning the artist. Ready to Die, All Eyez On Me, Reasonable Doubt, Death Certificate, It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us back and a few more. If you’re talking to someone that loves hip hop, Illmatic will most likely be mentioned as one of those all-time great albums. Illmatic turns 25 today and it’s still being celebrated till this day. Nas got his start when he featured on a track called Live at the Barbeque from the hip hop group, Main Source off their Breaking Atoms album. Illmatic was so damn dope that people said Nas was the second coming of Rakim. If you’re not familiar with Rakim, then let’s just say that you can’t get a better co-sign than that.

Illmatic had the top of the line producers also because the buzz was so big for Nas. DJ Premier, Large Professor, Pete Rock, Q-Tip, L.E.S. and Nas himself did their thang behind the boards. This is one of the albums that I bring up when talking to the younger generation. Most of the times they have many excuses as to why the young rappers don’t take lyrics, storytelling and creative bars seriously. They’ll say these dudes are young seeing they’re usually under 23. Nas, 2Pac, Biggie, Ice Cube, Rakim and many more focused on the art at a youthful age, but then again this is a new generation of fans. There’s not too much I can say about Illmatic that I haven’t said before as I posted about it 22 years ago. Check out the track listing below and it’s followed by the stream link.

  1. The Genesis
  2. Y. State of Mind
  3. Life’s A Bitch ft. AZ
  4. The World is Yours
  5. Halftime
  6. Memory Lane (Sittin’ In the Park)
  7. One Love
  8. One Time 4 Your Mind
  9. Represent
  10. It Ain’t Hard 2 Tell

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *