Dr. Dre Chronic 2001 Released 20 Years Ago Today
Albums,  Hip Hop,  Music

Dr. Dre Chronic 2001 Released 20 Years Ago Today

Dr. Dre Chronic 2001 Released 20 Years Ago Today

The Chronic has been called one of the greatest hip hop albums of all-time. When the Chronic came out, it seemed like it changed hip hop and moved it in another direction. The production on the album was top-notched and made Death Row Records. The album ushered in a great of young stars like Snoop Dogg, Tha Dogg Pound and many others. 7 years later, Dr. Dre released the follow-up, Chronic 2001 and through his label this time. Did Chronic 2001 eclipse the original Chronic album? In my opinion, it’ll be really hard to duplicate that album. The original Chronic is mentioned as the greatest rap album ever and on everyone’s top-5 list. Chronic 2001 was a damn good album though. Still D.R.E. was the first single released the month before. Still D.R.E. saw Dre reunite with Snoop Dogg and it was typical magic when these two get together.

The track was dope and the video was amazing. For the second single, Dr. Dre teamed with his newest protégé and that’s Eminem. Forgot About Dre was the name and it was another classic from the Chronic 2001. Forgot About Dre went on to win the Grammy for Best Rap Performance by a Duo in 2001. The third single reminded me about the Death Row days and what could’ve been. The Next Episode was the track and it featured Snoop Dogg, Nate Dogg and Kurupt. The track is a classic and another gem from the Chronic 2001 project. The Watcher was the fourth and final single from the Chronic 2001. The single was released a little over a year after the album dropped. The Chronic 2001 went on to sell almost 8 million records. Dr. Dre done his magic again as this was another classic record under his belt.

Eminem, Snoop & Nate Dogg, Kurupt, Devin the Dude, RBX, Lady of Rage, Xzibit, MC Ren and many more appeared on the album. If this album isn’t a part of your collection, you’re not a hip hop fan. The production is just crazy on the album and it’s one of those albums that get bumped a lot still. Check out the track listing below and it’s followed by the stream links.

  1. Lolo (Intro) ft. Tray Dee & Xzibit
  2. The Watcher ft. Eminem & Knoc-turn’al
  3. Fuck You ft. Devin the Dude & Snoop Dogg
  4. Still D.R.E. ft. Snoop Dogg
  5. Big Ego’s ft. Hittman
  6. Xxplosive ft. Hittman, Kurupt, Nate Dogg & Six-Two
  7. What’s the Difference ft. Eminem & Xzibit
  8. Bar One (Skit)
  9. Light Speed ft. Hittman
  10. Forgot About Dre ft. Eminem
  11. The Next Episode ft. Snoop Dogg, Nate Dogg & Kurupt
  12. Let’s Get High ft. Hittman & Kurupt
  13. Bitch Niggaz ft. Snoop Dogg, Hittman & Six-Two
  14. The Car Bomb (Skit) ft. Mel-Man
  15. Murder Ink ft. Hittman
  16. Ed-Ucation ft. Eddie Griffin
  17. Some L.A. Niggaz ft. Hittman, Defari, Xzibit, King T, MC Ren & Kokane
  18. Pause 4 Porno (Skit) ft. Jake Steed
  19. Housewife ft. Kurupt & Hittman
  20. Ackrite ft. Hittman
  21. Bang Bang ft. Knoc-turn’al & Hittman
  22. The Message/Outro ft. Mary J. Blige & Rell

Who remembers the Chronic 2001? What did you think about the album? What are your favorite tracks from the album? Leave some feedback below about anything related to Dr. Dre or the Chronic 2001 album.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *