LL Cool J Mr. Smith Turns 25 Years Old Today
Albums,  Hip Hop,  Music

LL Cool J Mr. Smith Turns 25 Years Old Today

LL Cool J Mr. Smith Turns 25 Years Old Today

LL Cool J has gone down as one of the greatest rappers of all-time. LL dropped his first album back in 1985. Radio just turned 35 a few days and it put LL Cool J on the map. After going platinum with his debut album, LL went double platinum with his Bigger and Deffer joint. Fast forward almost 10 years after Radio; LL dropped his 6th album Mr. Smith. Mr. Smith was one of my favorite LL albums as he had a mixture of slow and hard joints. Hey Lover was the first single and it went on to win a Grammy for Best Rap Solo. Boyz II Men song the chorus and it was just a smooth track. Hey Lover went platinum and on the B-Side was his hardest track on the album, I Shot Ya (Remix). Prodigy of Mobb Deep, Keith Murray, Fat Joe and Foxy Brown appeared.

LL returned with another joint for the ladies and it was called Doin’ It. Doin’ It went gold and was another banger off of Mr. Smith. The last single from Mr. Smith was Loungin’ and it was another good track. Unfortunately, it didn’t do as well as Hey Lover and Doin’ It. Either way, Mr. Smith went double platinum and making it five of six albums to sell at least a million copies. Many thought his 14 Shots to the Dome was lackluster as it only went gold. Mr. Smith was a strong comeback album for LL Cool J solidifying him as one of the best ever. To listen to Mr. Smith, check out the track listing and stream links below.

  1. The Intro (Skit)
  2. Make It Hot
  3. Hip Hop
  4. Hey Lover ft. Boyz II Men
  5. Doin It ft. LeShaun
  6. Life As…
  7. I Shot Y aft. Keith Murray
  8. No Airplay
  9. Loungin ft. Terri & Monica
  10. Hollis to Hollywood
  11. God Bless
  12. Get Da Drop on Em
  13. Prelude (Skit)
  14. I Shot Ya Remix ft. Keith Murray, Prodigy, Fat Joe & Foxy Brown

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *