Aaliyah Released One in a Million 25 Years Ago

 Aaliyah Released One in a Million 25 Years Ago

Aaliyah was once called the Princess of R&B music. At the age of 15, she released her debut album and it has sold 6 million records worldwide. Age Ain’t Nothing But a Number was the album and with the R. Kelly stuff, it’s very controversial. Two years later, Aaliyah returned with a much more mature sound for her second album. One in a Million was the name of the project. Once again, she sold another 8 million records worldwide and it solidified her as a star. She was only 17-years-old with two multi-platinum albums to her name. Aaliyah released six singles off the album in a span of 14 months. If You Girl Only Knew was the first one to be dropped off of One in a Million. The track peaked at #1 and stayed there for a couple of weeks. In October, she released her second single off the album.

Got to Give It Up was a remake of a classic Marvin Gaye track. Unfortunately, it didn’t reach the status of the prior single If Your Girl Only Knew. The title track, One in a Million and man that beat alone for this track was classic. One in a Million was nominated for a few awards. The single was released at the end of 1996. 4 Page Letter was the follow-up as it was released in March of 1997. 4 Page Letter is probably one of, if not my favorite Aaliyah joint. Hot Like Fire and The One I Gave My Heart To finished out her singles releases. Overall, this was an amazing album as it showed her growth seeing she was only 17 when it dropped. My top 5 tracks are 4 Page Letter, One in a Million, If Your Girl Only Knew, Choosey Lover and Never Givin’ Up.

Unfortunately, Aaliyah passed away on August 25th of 2001. She released her final album 6 weeks before her untimely demise. Check out the track listing and stream links to the One in a Million album below.

  1. Beats 4 Da Streets (Intro) ft. Missy Elliott
  2. Hot Like Fire
  3. One in a Million
  4. A Girl Like You ft. Treach
  5. If Your Girl Only Knew
  6. Choosey Lover (Old School/New School)
  7. Got to Give It Up ft. Slick Rick
  8. 4 Page Letter
  9. Everything’s Gonna Be Alright
  10. Giving You More
  11. I Gotcha Back
  12. Never Givin’ Up ft. Tavarius Polk
  13. Heartbroken
  14. Never Comin’ Back
  15. Ladies In Da House ft. Missy Elliott & Timbaland
  16. The One I Gave My Heart To
  17. Came to Give Love (Outro) ft. Timbaland

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *